this is home

It’s my 30th birthday today and I am the luckiest girl in the world.

I truly am. I have so much love coming at me from all corners of the world and I have so much gratitude for the people in my life, I am almost without words.

Almost.

I can say this, wherever this road shall lead me into the future, the past three decades have taught me this:

We never really know how we touch each other’s lives. But each of us does. Often and with lasting effect.

If I can do one thing in this life, I want to be a force that helps to connect us again with the heart that makes us human. If we are brave enough to feel, we are close enough to the part in each of us that is the same in all of us and that will save us better than anything I can otherwise imagine.

Home is where you feel like your best self.

Love is unique and there is no contest and no rules.

Surround yourself with people who bring out the best in you.

When you are happy, the whole world is a winner: be what makes you happy.

And finally, and I cannot emphasize this enough: you are beautiful when you laugh.

