a brief reminder

There are just some people you don’t forget.

You know them intimately, whether or not it was sexual. Perhaps you got to know them over a long period in your life or maybe life set its deck of cards to have you to lean up against one another only to be blown apart by a stiff breeze. There can be a collection of decades and miles between you, yet nearing them on the street, you know them instantly from the curve of their cheekbone or the way they slouch when they stand, diminishing their large frame in a crowd.

If we were beasts of olfactory superiority, we would know them like a bloodhound knows an old trail you walked long ago. At once you know who it is. At once I knew it was you.

I didn’t stop.

I think I wanted to.

I don’t know who we are to each other anymore.

